Minutes of the KPFK Local Station Board Meeting -April 5, 2008

A regular meeting of the KPFK Local Station Board was held on Saturday, April
5, 2008 at the Mercado La Paloma, 3655 S. Grand Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90007.
Rico Ross served as Chair, Adriana Gomez served as Secretary and Jack VanAken
served as Secretary Pro-Tem. The minutes of the March 3, 2008 LSB meeting were
reviewed and approved.

Twenty delegates were present, reaching quorum: Grace Aaron, Jonathan
Alexander, Yolanda Anguiano, Israel Feurer, Sherna Gluck, Ian Johnston, Tracy
Larkins, Shawn Casey O'Brien, Shel Plotkin, Reza Pour, Margaret Prescod, Leslie
Radford, Summer Reese, Ricco Ross, Jack VanAken, Donna Warren, Steve
Weatherwax, Don White, Gabrielle Woods and Yosh Yamanaka.

Also present: Secretary Adriana G. Gomez.

Four members were excused: Ali Lexa, Jan Goodman, Lich Doan and Dave Adelson.

Authority and Notice: This meeting was scheduled b hr LSB at the February 9,
2008 regular LSB meeting. A preliminary notice was posted on the KPFK website
on February 23, 2008, updated on February 27, 2008 (see Appendix A).


The meeting was called to order at 1:18 p.m.

Motion: G. Aaron moved to have the minutes from March 8, 2008 be revised and
Motion passed with no objections, after changes were made at 1:26 p.m.

The minutes for the February 9, 2008 meeting will be reviewed and approved at
the next LSB meeting.

Prescod asked that moment of silence be observed in memory of Martin Luther
King, Jr.

Motion: S. Reese moved to approve the agenda for the meeting.
Motion passes with no objections, after changes were made at 1:29 p.m.

Motion: G. Aaron moved that the following members be excused: D. Adelson, L.
Doan, J. Goodman and A. Lexa.
Motion passed with one objection from J. VanAken at 1:36 p.m.

II. COMMENTS BY THE CHAIR began at 1:36 p.m.
Comments were made about Confidentiality and transparency within the LSB.

Board members were reminded to complete the Online Sexual Harassment Training
prior to the May 1, 2008 deadline.

A segment of public comment was heard at 1:53 p.m. for two minutes.

A report was delivered by Grace Aaron and Summer Reese at 1:58 p.m.

Motion: L. Radford moved to have the LSB form an Ad-Hoc Fundraising Committee.
Motion was dismissed at 2:48 p.m.

IV. Program Oversight Committee Report began at 3:02 p.m.
A report was delivered and distributed by Sherna Gluck at 3:02 p.m.

A segment of public comment was heard at 3:26 p.m. for two minutes.

Motion: The Program Oversight Committee proposed the following motion to the

WHEREAS the Programming Oversight Committee...

Motion passed by a roll call vote at 3:31 p.m.:
Y: G. Aaron, J. Alexander, Y. Anguiano, I. Feurer, S. Gluck, I. Johnston, T.
Larkins, S. Casey O'Brien, S. Plotkin, R. Pour, M. Prescod, L. Radford, S.
Reese, Jack VanAken, D. Warren, S. Weatherwax, D. White, Y. Yamanaka
N: none
A: none

V. COMMITTEE REPORTS began at 3:35 p.m.
GM Search Committee at 3:35 p.m.
S. Reese delivered a report on behalf of the GM Search Committee report.

Motion: The GM Search Committee moved to hold a town hall public meeting,
broadly promoted and to be broadcast live if possible, for the public to meet
the 5 top candidates from the GM Search Committee and for the candidates to
answer questions vetted by the National Human Resources Director on a date to
be determined before next LSB meeting.
Motion passed at 4:23 p.m. by a hand vote: Y: 13, N: 1, A: 3

A segment of public comment was heard at 3:59 p.m. for three minutes.

Motion: The GM Search Committee moved that a member of Management sit in as a
non-voting member on the interviewing process for the General Manager
Candidates and give her/his report.
Motion passed at 4:02 p.m. by a hand vote: Y: 10, N: 2, A: 5

Governance Committee at 4:24 p.m.
S. Casey O'Brien delivered a report on behalf of the Governance Committee.
Motion: The Governance Committee introduced the following motion:

Motion: G. Aaron moved to refer this motion back to the Governance Committee
and consult Human Resources.
Gluck offered an amendment to consult with Pacifica's HR Director on the
appropriateness of the procedure.
Amendment approved without objection.
Motion passed at 4:44 p.m. by a hand vote: Y: 9, N: 3, A: 5

Secretary Adriana Gomez left the meeting and JackVanAken assumed the

Outreach Committee at 4:59 p.m.
R. Pour and Y. Anguiano delivered a report on behalf of the Outreach Committee.

Personnel Committee at 5:14 p.m.
Don White delivered a report on behalf of the Personnel Committee.

Motion: S.Gluck moved that the next meeting be devoted to the General Manager
Search Committee presentation.
Amended by J. VanAken: Chair will poll LSB for scheduling a date per Gluck

As it was noted that the LSB officers will not be available to schedule a
special meeting, the Gluck motion was withdrawn without objection.

Motion: S. Gluck moved that the Personnel Committee session will follow GMSC
executive session at the next LSB meeting.
Motion passed with no objections.

V. Election of to LSB Liaisons to the iPC

The IPC election is to elect two LSB liasons to the iPC to fill the current

Candidates nominated:
Jonathon Alexander
Israel Feuer
Shel Plotkin
Reza Pour
Ian Johnston

Motion: Prescod moved to adjourn the meeting 5:35 p.m.
Motion passed with no objections at 5:35 p.m.

Meeting adjourned prior to completion of iSTV tally for iPC election.

Election results: Alexander and Pour were elected as LSB liaisons to the iPC.

Adriana G. Gomez