Draft Minutes of the KPFK Local Station Board Meeting of October 23, 2010
A Regular Meeting of the KPFK Local Station Board at the
Public Library, 601 Santa Monica Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401

Dutch Merrick served as Chair. Richard Vega and Doug Barnett served as
Secretary. Richard Vega served as Parliamentarian.

2:45 pm 14 Members present at roll call, constituting a quorum: Ken Aaron,
Rodrigo Argueta, Luis Cabrales, Kim Kaufman, Dutch Merrick, Margie Murray,
Shawn Casey O'Brien, Lrslie Radford, Summer Reese, Ricco Ross, Bree Walker,
Donna Warren, John Wenger, Lamont Yeakey.

Members arriving later: John Parker, Reza Pout.
Members leaving early: Ricco Ross, 3:20 & returns for Executive session; John
Parker with an emergency at 4:30 pm.
Excused absences: Jonathan Alexander, John Cromshow, Fred Klunder and Ali Lexa

There is no representation at this meeting for the iGM.

Motion: [This LSB meeting] is to have the Executive Session first. Fails.

Agenda discussion.
2:53 Agenda approved.

Committee Report: Finance

Motion from Margie Murray to write to Management on [the Local Station Board's]
fiduciary responsibility and our role in maintaining the Station as stated in
[Pacifica's] bylaws. Fails for lack of second.

Motion from Donna Warren That the Finance Committee of the KPFK LSB be put on
the distribution list for tracking of budget. Motion withdrawn without

Motion from Ken Aaron to form a Committee for Fund Drive Effectiveness.
Shawn Casey O'Brien states that he was told by the iPD that our telephones were
down for one-third of this fund drive.

Motion from Luis Cabrales: I want this board to seriously consider writing
Management, and demand they come here.

Motion from Chair, seconded by Shawn Casey O'Brien to put together a small
committee to write a respectful letter to Management, to encourage
participation [of all programmers and LSB] and demand transparency of the fund
drives of KPFK. Passes without objection.

Members of the Ad Hoc Letter Writing Committee for Fund Drive Participation and
Transparency: Luis Cabrales, Margie Murray, Leslie Radford, Summer Reese, John

Discussion of programming decisions letter from the interim Program Director
about how he came to decisions on programming at KPFK. Chair sets allowed time
to one minute. The LSB resets time at 5 minutes.

There was a lack of process for the Spanish language programming changes. Two
hours of Spanish language programming are cut on Saturdays and more hours are
cut without adding any to another time slot. A letter from the KPFK
Association of Spanish Speaking Programmers (APE) was brought to the LSB at our
last meeting.

Chair interrupts with parliamentarian motions. The discussion should come
within the allotted time. Shawn Casey O'Brien contests the Chair's ruling on
motions made at the end of an item's allotted time.

Chair clarifies iPD's "violations," reads Pacifica Bylaws Article 7, Section G:
To work with station management to ensure that station programming fulfills the
purposes of the Foundation and is responsive to the diverse needs of the
listeners (demographic) and communities (geographic) served by the station, and
that station policies and procedures for making programming decisions and for
program evaluation are working in a fair, collaborative and respectful manner
to provide quality programming.

Motion from Shawn Casey O'Brien That we get in writing answers to some of these
questions: How many collectives and people are they operating under, how many
shows and how many hours of programming are involved, how the iPD violated the
bylaws? Fails for lack of second.

Committee Reports
Town Hall Meeting was discussed.

PrOC Committee presents a motion That no later than 15 days after this October,
2010 LSB meeting there would be a meeting with the interim Program Director and
the LSB. The meeting would be open to programmers and staff.
Chair calls for vote. Ken Aaron opposes PrOC motion. Chair modifies the
motion, then blocks for lack of a notification mechanism. Shawn Casey O'Brien
demands, "We do not accept, we must see a real motion, we need to see the vote
from the committee. We don't take it just because someone said it."Alise
Sochaczewski is the Secretary of the PrOC and will produce a motion in writing
for the LSB.

Motion from Rodrigo Argueta, seconded by Shawn Casey O'Brien that the meeting
be set with Alan Minsky no later than 15 days after this date to clarify the
issue of the exclusion of the collective group of Spanish language programmers
in the decision of the new Spanish language grid. Passes without objection.

Lamont Yeakey honors Public Commentators because we moved the Executive Session
to the end of the meeting.

Motion from Lamont Yeakey to reduce the Public Comment to 15 minutes. Motion

Public Comment.
Chair limits comments to one minute each.

4:53 pm Chair adjourns meeting to Executive session.