DRAFT PNB Delegates Meeting & KPFK Local Station Board Meeting, February 8, 2010

A regular Meeting of the KPFK Local Station Board at the

Palms Westminster Presbyterian Church 2908 Robertson Place, Los Angeles, CA 90034

Continuation of the Delegates Meeting of January 9, 2010.

John Cromshow served as Chair. Doug Barnett served as Secretary.

7:20 pm Roll Call for continuation. 21 delegates were present.

Ken Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, Rodrigo Argueta, John Cromshow, Israel Feuer, Ian Johnston©, Rufina Juarez, Kim Kaufman, Fred Klunder, Sequuia Olivia Mercier, Dutch Merrick,

Shawn Casey O'Brien, John Parker, Reza Pour, Leslie Radford, Summer Reese, Ricco Ross,

Bree Walker, Donna Warren, John Wenger, Lamont Yeakey.

Nominations to populate PNB Committees ends at 7:53 pm.

Clarifying voting procedure; Fred Blair: Each ballot has been marked with a candidate rank 1 to x. Single Transferable Vote. Elect two members for each committee. Ballots handed out.

Point of order; Ian Johnston: *That Chair's decision not to hear from candidates was not voted or decided by the body.*

Alan Minsky, the Interim Program director of KPFK, was a guest at the meeting.

8:25 pm Ian Johnston moves To go to a "Meeting of the Body of the Whole".

Report from the Community Assessment Board; Kwazi Nkrumah: The CAB meeting was very productive. Three groups were formed. Thanks everyone. The CAB should be recognized. **Ken Aaron**: *I would like to recognize Israel Feuer. His term on the LSB ends on February 29th 2010*. A standing ovation is given.

The new Executive Director of Pacifica, Arlene Englehardt came to the KPFK Local Station Board Meeting. Points of her speech:

"Climate change should be addressed by Pacifica, a chance to work on a productive issue.

I want Pacifica to move forward. Community Radio cannot do what it needs without a strong Pacifica.

No radio network is standing up for peace and justice except for Pacifica.

The world would not have been the same without Howard Zinn.

Without the Pacifica Radio Archives we would not be the same.

There are now 140 affiliate stations.

I was on the Board Of Directors at my station in Tampa Florida 10 of the last 12 years and a programmer for the last 13 years. We [WMNF] have a new transmitter, digital, a new tower, [our High Definition] HD channel is leased to students at University Of South Florida.

Programming is a local issue. We need more network news or at least "Amy Goodmen" caliber [network] programs available.

Most of my [few weeks] here have concerned issues of finance."

Question; John Wenger: Will there be [financial] transparency fully by-directional [between the Stations and National]?

ED: "Yes it will, and there will be monthly reports coming both directions, and anything that we are doing will be viewable by people on both directions. And that includes bank accounts."

A reception with a cake to honor Pacifica's new Executive Director is given between today's meetings.

Committee choices, elections, and STV results:

PNB Audit Director Member; Leslie Radford. Donna Warren, Dutch Merrick.

Alternate; Reza Pour.

PNB Governance Director Member; Shawn O'Brien. Rufina Juarez, Ken Aaron.

Alternate; Lamont Yeakey.

PNB Programing Director Member; Leslie Radford. Kim Kaufman, Rufina Juarez.

Alternate; Segouia Olivia Mercier.

PNB Elections Director Member; Shawn O'Brien. Ken Aaron, Fred Klunder.

Alternate; Raymundo Reynoso.

PNB **Technology** Director Member; Summer Reese. Fred Klunder, Ali Lexa.

Alternate; Ken Aaron.

PNB Committee of Inclusion, Director Member; Ricco Ross. Rufina Juarez, John parker & Rodrigo Argueta.

PNB Archives Task Force, Director Member: Summer Reese, Sequoia Mercier, Bree Walker,

PNB Affiliates Task Force, Director Member; Lamont Yeakey. Kim Kaufman.

PNB Finance Committee, Director Member; Summer Reese & LSB Treasurer Fred Klunder.

PNB Racism, Sexism, Discrimination Committee (Directors Only) Leslie Radford.

PNB Personnel Committee & Cordinating Committee (Directors Only) Ricco Ross.

Local Station Board Meeting call to order, 9:30 pm.

John Cromshow served as Chair. Doug Barnett served as Secretary.

Nineteen LSB Members were present, constituting a quorum:

Ken Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, Rodrigo Argueta, John Cromshow, Israel Feuer, Ian Johnston©, Rufina Juarez, Kim Kaufman, Fred Klunder, Seqouia Olivia Mercier, Dutch Merrick, Sean Casey O'Brien, John Parker, Reza Pour, Leslie Radford, Summer Reese, Ricco Ross, Bree Walker, Donna Warren, John Wenger, Lamont Yeakey.

Excused Absences: Ali Lexa, Luis Cabrales, Raymundo Reynoso.

Motion; Shawn Casey O'Brien: *Peopling of the local LSB Committees by E-mail.* No Second. Ian Johnston; *Committees people themselves. Members or chair can call committee meetings.*

The LSB meeting for March 2010, called for on March 13th. 12 -for, 4 -against. Passes. Public Comment

10:00 pm: Meeting Adjourned.

db/JC