

Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

#### APPROVED MINUTES

#### **KPFK Governance Committee**

Meeting of August 17, 2022 6:00 PM

( Teleconference via Zoom )

#### I. a. Call to Order 6:06 PM

Michael Novick presiding. The Chair calls for the roll:

**Members Present:** Grace Aaron, Fred Blair, Sue Cohen-Johnson, Marisol Cruz, Bella De Soto, Raymond Goldstone, Ralph Hawkins (Secretary), Michael Heiss, Eric C. Jacobson, Kim Kaufman (Treasurer), Michael Novick, Mila Reson, Lawrence Reyes, Paul Roberson, Jeanine Rohn, Ruth Strauss, and Beth von Gunten.

**Members Absent:** (Doug Barnett, candidate for committee membership).

**Also present:** Jonathan Markowitz (candidate for committee membership), John Tatum (PNB Parliamentarian).

- b. **Appoint Timekeeper:** Michael Heiss volunteers.
- c. **Approve Proposed Agenda:** Bella De Soto moves the agenda. Myla Reson objects. Lawrence Reyes moves to approve the agenda as written.

Jeanine Rohn moves to amend the agenda by adding an Item VIII to reconsider the LSB Decorum Policy. Kim Kaufman objects. There is discussion by the members for twelve minutes. The Chair calls for the roll:

Grace Aaron (No), Fred Blair (No), Sue Cohen-Johnson (Yes), Marisol Cruz (Yes), Bella De Soto (Yes), Raymond Goldstone (No), Ralph Hawkins (No), Michael Heiss (No), Eric C. Jacobson (Abstain), Kim Kaufman (No), Michael Novick (Yes), Mila Reson (No), Lawrence Reyes (Yes), Paul Roberson (Yes), Jeanine Rohn (Yes), Ruth Strauss (Abstain), and Beth von Gunten (No).



Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

The tally is 7 yea, 8 nay, and 2 abstentions. The amendment fails.

The Chair calls for any further objections or amendments to the proposed agenda and hearing none the agenda is passed.

### c. Set Time Certain:

Paul Roberson moves to set the time certain for adjournment at 8:00 PM. Bella De Soto objects. Lawrence Reyes moves to amend time certain to 8:30 PM. Bella De Soto seconds. The Chair calls for the roll:

Grace Aaron (No), Fred Blair (No), Sue Cohen-Johnson (Abstain), Marisol Cruz (Yes), Bella De Soto (Yes), Raymond Goldstone (No), Ralph Hawkins (No), Michael Heiss (No), Eric C. Jacobson (Abstain), Kim Kaufman (No), Michael Novick (Yes), Mila Reson (No), Lawrence Reyes (Yes), Paul Roberson (No), Jeanine Rohn (Yes), Ruth Strauss (No), and Beth von Gunten (No).

The tally is 5 yea, 10 nay, and 2 abstentions. The amendment fails.

The Chair calls for any objections to the original motion and hearing none, adjournment is set for 8:00 PM.

### e. Approve Prior Minutes:

The Chair calls for any objections to the Draft Minutes of July 13, 2022, and hearing none, the minutes are approved.

### II. Set LSB Agenda:

### a. Check for Committee Items for the LSB Agenda:

The Chair identifies the previously noticed motion from the Finance Committee re: Fundraising Policy. The Chair calls for any motions from other committees and hears none.

### b. Set Time Certain for Regular Open Session:

Grace Aaron relays the desire of the GM Search Committee that time certain for the regular business meeting be set at 11:30 AM so the body may proceed to closed



Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

session and consider the candidates being advanced by the committee. There is discussion by the members for nine minutes.

Raymond Goldstone moves to set a two-hour time for the regular business meeting. Sue Cohen-Johnson moves to amend the time to one and one-half hours. There is further discussion by the members for twelve minutes. The Chair clarifies this motion implies adjourning the open session at 11:30 AM and moving into closed session with a time certain to be determined. The Chair calls for objections. Bella De Soto objects. The Chair calls for the roll and the Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (Yes), Fred Blair (Yes), Sue Cohen-Johnson (Yes), Marisol Cruz (Yes), Bella De Soto (No), Raymond Goldstone (Yes), Ralph Hawkins (Yes), Michael Heiss (Yes), Eric C. Jacobson (Yes), Kim Kaufman (Yes), Michael Novick (Yes), Mila Reson (Yes), Lawrence Reyes (Yes), Paul Roberson (Yes), Jeanine Rohn (Yes), Ruth Strauss (Yes), and Beth von Gunten (Yes).

The tally is 15 yea, one nay, and no abstentions. The motion carries.

## a. Prioritize Potential Agenda Items:

The Chair opens discussion suggesting a Management report is in order. Myla Reson suggests prioritizing the budget for the approaching fiscal year. The Chair moves to hold a Continuation Meeting on Sunday, Aug. 28th (to complete the agenda of the business meeting being cut short for closed session). and a Special Budget Meeting on Sunday, Sept. 11th.

Myla Reson makes a substitute motion to hold a Special Meeting on Sunday, Aug. 28th consolidating consideration of the budget, and remaining time devoted to unfinished business. There is discussion among the members for eleven minutes.

Myla Reson amends her substitute motion by changing the Special Meeting date to Sept. 11th.

Timekeeper Michael Heiss notes there are four minutes until time certain. Myla Reson moves to extend time for fifteen minutes. Objections are heard. The Chair calls for objections to extending time for ten minutes. Hearing none, time certain is extended.

There is further discussion by the members for eight minutes. The Chair calls for the roll on the motion for Sept. 11th and the Secretary records the vote:



Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

Grace Aaron (No), Fred Blair (No), Sue Cohen-Johnson (Yes), Marisol Cruz (Yes), Bella De Soto (Yes), Raymond Goldstone (No), Ralph Hawkins (No), Michael Heiss (No), Eric C. Jacobson (Abstain), Kim Kaufman (No), Michael Novick (Yes), Mila Reson (No), Lawrence Reyes (Yes), Paul Roberson (Yes), Jeanine Rohn (Yes), Ruth Strauss (off-line), and Beth von Gunten (No).

The tally is 7 yea, 8 nay, and one abstention. The amendment is defeated.

The Chair calls for objections to the prior motion for a meeting on Aug. 28th. Bella De Soto objects. The Chair calls for the roll and the Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (Yes), Fred Blair (Yes), Sue Cohen-Johnson (No), Marisol Cruz (No), Bella De Soto (No), Raymond Goldstone (No), Ralph Hawkins (Yes), Michael Heiss (Yes), Eric C. Jacobson (Abstain), Kim Kaufman (Yes), Michael Novick (No), Mila Reson (Yes), Lawrence Reyes (No), Paul Roberson (No), Jeanine Rohn (No), Ruth Strauss (off-line), and Beth von Gunten (Yes).

The tally is 7 yea, 8 nay, and one abstention. The motion fails.

The Chair calls for objections to his original motion for two meetings on Aug. 28th and Sept. 11th. Objections are heard. The Chair calls for the roll and the Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (Abstain), Fred Blair (No), Sue Cohen-Johnson (No), Marisol Cruz (Yes), Bella De Soto (No), Raymond Goldstone (Yes), Ralph Hawkins (Yes), Michael Heiss (Yes), Eric C. Jacobson (Abstain), Kim Kaufman (No), Michael Novick (Yes), Mila Reson (No), Lawrence Reyes (Yes), Paul Roberson (Yes), Jeanine Rohn (No), Ruth Strauss (off-line), and Beth von Gunten (No).

The tally is 7 yea, 7 nay, and 2 abstentions. The motion fails.

# III. Adjourned 8:21 PM



Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

**END**