## KPFK Finance Committee MINUTES May 25, 2022 4:00 PM Via Maestro

#### Approved 6/22/22

### 1. Call to Order – Roll Call

- LSB Grace Aaron
- PUB Ken Aaron
- LSB Alan Beek
- LSB Fred Blair
- PUB Sue Cohen Johnson
- LSB Bella De Soto
- PUB Raymond Goldstone
- PUB Michael Heiss
- PUB Dave Johnson
- PUB Kim Kaufman, Treasurer/Secretary
- LSB Michael Novick
- PUB King Reilly
- LSB Lawrence Reyes
- PUB Jeanine Rohn
- PUB Ruth Strauss
- PUB John Wenger

iCFO Julia Kennard

Absent: Steve Kaiser, Beth Von Gunten iGM Moe Thomas Asst iGM Ali Lexa

#### Michael Novick moves to approve agenda

### Michael Novick moves to put Grace Aaron's motion after Review of P&Ls.

Yes: Grace Aaron, Ken Aaron, Allan Beek, Fred Blair, Sue Cohen Johnson, Bella De Soto, Michael Heiss, Dave Johnson, Michael Novick, Lawrence Reyes, Jeanine Rohn, Ruth Strauss

No: Raymond Goldstone

Abstain: Kim Kaufman, John Wenger

Yes: 12 no: 1 Abstain: 2

### Approve agenda as amended

No objections

### Michael Novick moves to approve minutes from May 11

Minutes approved

Bella De Soto objects

Review April p&ls with Julia Kennard

Bella De Soto makes derogatory comments towards the chair and refuses to come to order with over three warnings to come to order. (See Appendix)

### Chair calls for a vote to mute Bella for the rest of the meeting.

Yes; Grace Aaron, Ken Aaron, Allan Beek, Fred Blair, Raymond Goldstone, Michael Heiss, Dave Johnson, Kim Kaufman, John Wenger

No: Bella De Soto, Michael Novick, Jeanine Rohn

Abstain: Sue Cohen Johnson, Ruth Strauss

Yes: 9 No: 3 Abstain: 2

### Motion from Grace Aaron

Whereas, KPFK needs a permanent General Manager as soon as possible.

And, whereas, the KPFK General Manager Search Committee is ready to advertise this open position,

Therefore, be it moved that the KPFK Finance Committee approves an expenditure of up to \$1,200 for placing job listings.

### Lawrence Reyes makes a motion to "reconsider' the vote to mute Bella.

Michael Novick seconds

Chair rules it is out of order because Lawrence did not vote on the motion so therefore he cannot ask to reconsider his vote.

#### To uphold chairs ruling:

Yes: Grace Aaron, Ken Aaron, Allen Beek, Fred Blair, Raymond Goldstone, Michael Heiss, Dave Johnson, Kim Kaufman, John Wenger

No: Michael Novick, Lawrence Reyes

Abstain; Ruth Strauss, Sue Cohen Johnson

Yes: 9 No: 2 Abstain: 2

#### Grace's GMSC motion

Yes: Grace Aaron, Ken Aaron, Allen Beek, Fred Blair, Dave Johnson, Michael Novick, Lawrence Reyes, Ruth Strauss

No: Sue Cohen Johnson, Raymond Goldstone, Michael Heiss

Abstain: Kim Kaufman, John Wenger

Yes: 8 No: 3 Abstain: 2

#### **Unfinished Business**

Election of Permanent Chair Review of members Protocols for voting (10 min)

Chair will send out members emails (approved by committee) to the tellers. Everyone on the list will receive a ballot with the candidates' names. Give yourself a five alpha and/or numeric code, to be used to check your ballot with on the results, and put it in the body of the email, along with your vote. Please return the ballot to the Tellers by April 22. It will be ratified at the next meeting, April 27.

Membership approved (see appendix)

#### No objection

Adjourn 6:00

### Appendix

From: Kim Kaufman <kim.kaufman@att.net>
Sent: Wednesday, May 25, 2022 1:46 PM
To: Finance Committee and Election Tellers
Subject: voting members for fc

Hi all –

The issues of who is eligible to vote has been difficult because of the inconsistencies in the most recent committee membership policy.

Several people claimed I was ignoring this provision, below, and I claimed it was not in the policy. At the last governance meeting, the policy was amended to add it because it was not in the policy. It has not been ratified by the LSB but it's my belief it will be and I'm going to accept it:

LSB members and public members who have been members of a committee as recognized in the minutes during the prior year continue their membership in the new year

So this, as far as I'm concerned, settles the issue of Ken Aaron, Allan Beek, and Lawrence Reyes being able to vote.

I am still going to adhere to this part of provision #10

Permanent officers will be elected at the third meeting, following a roll call that determines the voting membership and quorum.

Last year's "third meeting deadline" was extended to add members for the chair election. I found that distasteful and I don't want to use that as a precedent. I am still looking only at the third meeting as the eligible members. That said, it does not affect who is eligible to vote as no one has become a member since the third meeting.

|             | LSB | PUB | 1/12/2022 | 1/26/2022 | 3/2/2022 | voting |
|-------------|-----|-----|-----------|-----------|----------|--------|
| Grace Aaron | х   |     | x         | x         | x        | V      |

| Ken Aaron             |   | х | absent | х      | x      | V |
|-----------------------|---|---|--------|--------|--------|---|
| Allan Beek            | х |   | absent | absent | х      | V |
| Fred Blair            | х |   | х      | x      | x      | V |
| Bella De Soto         | х |   | х      | x      | x      | V |
| Raymond Goldstone     |   | х | х      | х      | х      | V |
| Michael Heiss         |   | х | х      | х      | х      | V |
| Sue Cohen Johnson     |   | х | х      | x      | х      | V |
| Dave Johnson          |   | х | х      | х      | х      | V |
| Steve Kaiser          |   | х | х      | x      | х      | V |
| Kim Kaufman Treasurer |   | х | х      | x      | x      | V |
| Ali Lexa              | х |   |        | х      |        |   |
| Michael Novick        | х |   | х      | х      | х      | V |
| King Reilly           |   | х | х      | x      | х      | V |
| Lawrence Reyes        | х |   | х      | x      | absent | V |
| Ziri Rideaux          | х |   |        |        |        |   |
| Jeanine Rohn          |   | х | х      | x      | х      | V |
| Maria Skelton         |   | х | х      |        |        |   |
| Ruth Strauss          |   |   | х      | х      | х      | V |
| Beth Von Gunten       | х |   | х      | x      | х      | V |
| John Wenger           |   | х | х      | x      | x      | V |

Kím

KPFK LSB Treasurer

# Transcription of taking a vote to mute Bella De Soto:

Jeanine Rohn asks iCFO for documents. Chair rules request dilatory (request asked and answered multiple times and been ruled dilatory multiple times).

Bella speaks without being recognized, claiming Chair is out of order. Chair warns Bella to come to order.

Jeanine persists. Chair warns Jeanine to come to order.

Chair moves the agenda.

Bella challenges ruling of Chair. Jeanine seconds.

Chair asks on what grounds Bella is challenging the ruling of the Chair.

Bella says on grounds Chair is dictatorial, out of order and insubordinate.

Chair warns Bella not to insult anybody on committee, on staff or any person.

Bella interrupts to say Chair needs to be removed as Chair.

Chair warns Bella again.

Bella keeps talking, claiming Chair is dictatorial, etc.

Chair warns again and Bella does not stop.

Chair calls for vote.