

3729 Cahuenga Blvd. West - N. Hollywood, CA 91604

Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

APPROVED MINUTES

LOCAL STATION BOARD April 10, 2022 10:00 AM

Continuation of Meeting on March 20, 2022

I. Call to Order: 10:07 AM

Michael Novick presiding. The Chair calls for the Secretary to take the roll:

Members Present: Grace Aaron, Christina Avalos, Allan Beek, Jose Benavides, Fred Blair, Sandy Childs, Marisol Cruz, Bella De Soto, Eric C. Jacobson, Evelia Jones, Rob Macon, Michael Novick, Oye Oyeyipo, Myla Reson, Lawrence Reyes, Ziri Rideaux, Paul Roberson, Oscar Ulloa, Polina Vasiliev, Elizabeth von Gunten, Harvey Wasserman (late), and Carlos Zavala.

Members Absent: Ali Lexa, and Barbara Marbach.

Also Present: Sue Cohen-Johnson, John P Garry III (KPFK Election Teller), Terry Goodman (KPFK Election Teller), Raymond Goldstone, Bruce Grief, Ralph Hawkins (Secretary), Michael Heiss, Kim Kaufman (Treasurer), James Sagurton, Ruth Strauss, and John Tatum (PNB Parliamentarian).

II. Approve Agenda

(Note: This meeting was set for the presentation of the tally of STV balloting for a GM Search Committee and to consider ratification of the results).

The Chair recognizes Oscar Ulloa, who reports difficulty in transmitting his ballot. There is discussion among the members for five minutes Terry Goodman, Election Teller, confirms that no e-mail ballot was received for Oscar Ulloa. The Chair hears Evelia Jones, Paul Roberson and Jose Benavides announce their presence at the meeting.

Myla Reson moves to Extend balloting to Friday April 15th. Second by Paul Roberson. The Chair calls for objections. The Chair recognizes Grace Aaron.

Grace Aaron moves to Amend the Motion to Extend by adding "That the first meeting of the KPFK GM Search Committee be scheduled at this meeting." Second by Lawrence Reyes.

There is discussion among the members for ten minutes.



3729 Cahuenga Blvd. West - N. Hollywood, CA 91604

Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

The Chair introduces a Substitute to the Motion to Amend that "A meeting to ratify the tally be set for Tuesday April 19, 2022 at 7:30 PM PST." be added to the Main Motion. Second by Lawrence Reyes.

There is discussion on the Substitute Motion for seventeen minutes.

Lawrence Reyes calls the question on the Substitute Motion. The Chair calls for public comment and hears none. There are objections and the Chair calls for the roll. The Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (Yes), Christina Avalos (Yes), Allan Beek (off-line), Jose Benavides (Yes), Fred Blair (No), Sandy Childs (No), Marisol Cruz (off-line), Bella De Soto (Yes), Eric C. Jacobson (No), Evelia Jones (No), Rob Macon (Abstain), Oye Oyeyipo (Yes), Myla Reson (No), Lawrence Reyes (Yes), Ziri Rideaux (Yes), Paul Roberson (Yes), Oscar Ulloa (Yes), Polina Vasiliev (Yes), Elizabeth von Gunten (No), Harvey Wasserman (No), Carlos Zavala (No), and Michael Novick (Yes).

The tally is 11 yea, 8 nay, and one abstention. The Substitute Motion to Amend is passed.

The Chair notes that the Main Motion as Amended is on the floor. Discussion among the members continues for eight minutes.

Beth von Gunten moves to further Amend the Main Motion to add that "The LSB shall receive and ratify the election results at the next regularly scheduled LSB meeting on April 24, 2002." Second by Myla Reson. The Chair calls for objections Grace Aaron objects. Myla Reson calls the question. The Chair calls for the roll on ending debate. The Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (No), Christina Avalos (Yes), Allan Beek (Yes), Jose Benavides (Yes), Fred Blair (Abstain), Sandy Childs (Abstain), Marisol Cruz (Abstain), Bella De Soto (Yes), Eric C. Jacobson (Abstain), Evelia Jones (Yes), Rob Macon (Abstain), Oye Oyeyipo (No), Myla Reson (Yes), Lawrence Reyes (Yes), Ziri Rideaux (No), Paul Roberson (Yes), Oscar Ulloa (Yes), Polina Vasiliev (Abstain), Elizabeth von Gunten (Abstain), Harvey Wasserman (off-line), Carlos Zavala (Yes), and Michael Novick (Yes).

The tally is 11 yea, 3 nay, and 7 abstentions. The motion to end debate is affirmed.



3729 Cahuenga Blvd. West - N. Hollywood, CA 91604

Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

The Chair proceeds to call for the roll on Beth von Gunten's Motion to Amend the Main Motion to receive and ratify the election results at the next regularly scheduled LSB meeting on April 24th. The Chair calls for the roll. The Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (Abstain), Christina Avalos (Yes), Allan Beek (Yes), Jose Benavides (Yes), Fred Blair (Yes), Sandy Childs (Abstain), Marisol Cruz (Yes), Bella De Soto (Yes), Eric C. Jacobson (Abstain), Evelia Jones (Yes), Rob Macon (Abstain), Oye Oyeyipo (Yes), Myla Reson (Yes), Lawrence Reyes (Yes), Ziri Rideaux (Abstain), Paul Roberson (Yes), Oscar Ulloa (Yes), Polina Vasiliev (Abstain), Elizabeth von Gunten (Yes), Harvey Wasserman (Yes), Carlos Zavala (Yes), and Michael Novick (Abstain).

The tally is 15 yea, zero nay, and 7 abstentions. The Motion to Amend is adopted and will be incorporated into the Main Motion.

.

The Chair entertains public comment for five minutes. The Chair proceeds to call for objections to the Main Motion, as amended. Hearing none, the Chair declares the Main Motion as amended is adopted.

Grace Aaron moves that the first meeting of the GM Search Committee be convened on Monday, April 25, 2002 at 7:30 PM. Second by Lawrence Reyes. Bella De Soto and Myla Reson object. The members conduct discussion of the motion for five minutes.

Motion to Adjourn by Bella De Soto. Second by Lawrence Reyes. Grace Aaron and Fred Blair object. The Chair calls for the roll and the Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (No), Christina Avalos (Yes), Allan Beek (Yes), Jose Benavides (Yes), Fred Blair (No), Sandy Childs (Yes), Marisol Cruz (Yes), Bella De Soto (Yes), Eric C. Jacobson (No), Evelia Jones (Yes), Rob Macon (Yes), Oye Oyeyipo (No), Myla Reson (Yes), Lawrence Reyes (Abstain), Ziri Rideaux (off-line), Paul Roberson (No), Oscar Ulloa (Yes), Polina Vasiliev (Abstain), Elizabeth von Gunten (Abstain), Harvey Wasserman (off-line), Carlos Zavala (Abstain), and Michael Novick (Abstain).

The tally is 10 yea, 5 nay, and 5 abstentions. The Motion to Adjourn is passed.

III. Adjourned 11:39 AM