

3729 Cahuenga Blvd. West - N. Hollywood, CA 91604 Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

> MINUTES (approved 1/19/22) May 17th, 2020 *Teleconference* Local Station Board (LSB) Meeting

I Call to Order / Opening Business 10:46 a.m.

Chair M. Manos turns the proceedings over to Vice-Chair P. Roberson due to business she will be engaging in during the meeting.

a) Roll Call Taken

Grace Aaron, Ken Aaron, Michael Adler, Allan Beek, Fred Blair, Sandy Childs, Bella De Soto, Jan Goodman, Eric C. Jacobson, Evelia Jones, Ali Lexa, Barbara Marbach, Michelle Manos, Michael Novick, James Osborne, Nancy Pearlman, Lawrence Reyes, Paul Roberson, Oscar Ulloa, Polina Vasiliev, Beth von Gunten, Kiana Williams. (A. Field not present)

b) Agenda approved

c) Approval of Excused Absence Requests

Roll call vote for approval for M. Sabbagh:

Grace Aaron (N), Ken Aaron (N), Michael Adler (Y), Allan Beek (Y), Fred Blair (N), Sandy Childs (Y), Bella De Soto (N), Jan Goodman (Y), Eric C. Jacobson (A), Evelia Jones (Y), Ali Lexa (Y), Barbara Marbach (Y), Michelle Manos (N), Michael Novick (N), James Osborne (Y), Nancy Pearlman (N), Lawrence Reyes (Y), Paul Roberson (Y), Oscar Ulloa, Polina Vasiliev (N), Beth von Gunten (A), Kiyana Williams (Y). YES (13); NO (7); A (2)

Roll call vote for J. Charles absence:

Grace Aaron (N), Ken Aaron (N), Michael Adler (Y), Allan Beek (Y), Fred Blair (N), Sandy Childs (Y), Bella De Soto (N), Jan Goodman (Y), Eric C. Jacobson (A), Evelia Jones (Y), Ali Lexa (Y), Barbara Marbach (Y), Michelle Manos (N), Michael Novick (N), James Osborne (Y), Nancy Pearlman (N), Lawrence Reyes (Y), Paul Roberson (Y), Oscar Ulloa, Polina Vasiliev (N), Beth von Gunten (A), Kiyana Williams (Y). YES (13); NO (7); A (2)

Excused absences approved.

D. Minutes Approval

Governance Committee will dispense with the minutes as a batch. Eric C. Jacobson's amendments are accepted to April 19th's minutes.

E. Set Time Certain to Adjourn.

Roll call vote for Time to Adjourn LSB set for 3:30pm.

Grace Aaron (N), Ken Aaron (N), Michael Adler (N), Allan Beek (Y), Fred Blair (N), Sandy Childs (N), Bella De Soto (Y), Jan Goodman (N), Eric C. Jacobson (N), Evelia Jones (N), Ali Lexa (N), Barbara Marbach (N), Michelle Manos (N), Michael Novick (N), James Osborne (N), Nancy Pearlman (Y), Lawrence Reyes (N), Paul Roberson (N), Oscar Ulloa (N), Polina Vasiliev (N), Beth von Gunten (A), Kiyana Williams (N). YES (3); NO (18); A (1)

Motion passes to set Time to Adjourn LSB set for 3:00pm.

II. Old Business

A. Finance Committee

F. Blair reported that the Finance Committee passed Motion requesting a fund-drive projection from management for the rest of the year and a plan to pay for expenses for the rest of the year. A. Field agrees to forward. The LSB passes motion with one objection from A. Beek..

B. Fundraising Committee

M. Novick reported that the Fundraising Committee passed a motion to recreate a Development Task Force and seek participation of people with development experience and professional expertise to assist the station and the Local Station Board in participating in off air fundraising for the station. Motion passes LSB with no objection.

III. General Manager Report & Discussion

Anyel Fields reports on the status of finances, ratings and new database software being used by the station.

Questions and discussion for L. Reyes, M. Manos, Oscar Ulloa, M. Novick, N. Pearlman, F. Blair, P. Vasiliev, E. von Gunten, G. Aaron, B. De Soto, K. Williams and K. Aaron.

IV. <u>Public Comment #1</u> (at 12:48pm)

V <u>Director Reports</u>

L. Reyes, G. Aaron, P. Vasiliev and J. Goodman gave reports as to the dealings of the PNB.

VI PNB Committee of Inclusion Report

L. Reyes reported about the first meeting of the COI meeting prior week.

VII <u>Public Comments #2</u> (at 1:46pm)

- VIII <u>Reports from Committees</u>
- A. M. Manos reported on the Governance Committee.
- **B.** F. Blair reported on the Finance Committee.
- **C.** B. De Soto reported on the Outreach Committee.
- **D.** M. Novick reported on the Fundraising.

IX <u>Treasurer's Report</u>

F. Blair reported on the fund drive.

(at 2:31pm)

XII <u>New Business</u> Motion -

A. Discussion of Finance Committee Chair race and the issue of a non-LSB Member viability to be elected Chair of the Finance Committee. Historically, the rule has been that every LSB Committee is chaired by an LSB Member for various reasons, one is confidentiality issues at the LSB and at the Committees themselves.

B. Chair's Motion (to create Digital Development Committee)

The Chair moves to create a Digital Development Committee within the LSB with the purpose of advancing a new era of digital engagement with KPFK listeners and members. The Digital Development Committee will communicate with management and staff about social media strategy and goals, including messaging, promotion fund-raisers, events, news merchandise, elections, digital content and any other of importance, monitor KPFK social media and support with likes, shares, invites, etc.; evaluate the website and make recommendations for improvement to management; manage the LSBboard.org inbox, which will include answering incoming emails in accordance with an agreed upon voice, i.e. no factualization, no talking poorly about the station, etc.; when needed forwarding emails to the appropriate recipients, reporting on the general content of the listener emails at the monthly LSB meeting.

NOTE: All board members have access to the email account, but only Digital Development Committee members may reply to listeners. And finally, the Digital Development Committee will stay abreast of best digital practices for non-profits, public media and community organizations in order to bring about the best dialogue to this conversation in the ever changing arena. The DDC shall convene it's first meeting before the June LSB and start to issue recommendations before July LSB.

MOTION to table the motion:

Grace Aaron (Y), Ken Aaron (N), Michael Adler (A), Allan Beek (N), Fred Blair (Y), Sandy Childs (A), Bella De Soto (Y), Jan Goodman (N), Eric C. Jacobson (Y), Evelia Jones (N), Barbara Marbach (N), Michelle Manos (N), Michael Novick (Y), James Osborne (Y), Nancy Pearlman (Y), Lawrence Reyes (N), Paul Roberson (Y), Oscar Ulloa (A), Polina Vasiliev (A), Beth von Gunten (Y), Kiyana Williams (Y). YES (9); NO (8); A (4)

C. Presentation by Jose Benavides on Covid19 Collaboration

A presentation by Jose Benavides, KPFK Programmer/Board Operator, seeking support for a proposed project, to hold a Special 3 day on air Fund-raiser to help a badly hit region in Guayaquil, Ecuador. This effort will be bridged between Spanish and English language programmers on board...

XIII <u>Adjourn</u> (at 3:45)

XIV <u>Executive Session.</u>